Prize Stories 1990

Prize Stories 1990

The O. Henry Awards

Book - 1990
Rate this:
"Widely regarded as the nation's most prestigious awards for short fiction"-- The Atlantic Monthly

The O. Henry Prize Stories 1990 gathers 20 of the best short stories of the year, selected from thousands published in literary magazines.

Stories include:
Leo E. Litwak "The Eleventh Edition" (first prize)
Peter Matthiessen "Lumumba Lives" (second prize)
Lore Segal "The Reverse Bug" (third prize)
Joyce Carol Oates "Heat"
Carolyn Osborn "The Grands"
James P. Blaylock "Unidentified Objects"
Jane Brown Gillette "Sins Against Animals"
Julie Schumacher "The Private Life of Robert Schumann"
Joanne Greenberg "Elizabeth Baird"
Alice Adams "1940: Fall"
T. Coraghessan Boyle "The Ape Lady in Retirement"
Marilyn Sides "The Island of the Mapmaker's Wife"
David Michael Kaplan "Stand"
Meredith Steinbach "In Recent History"
Claudia Smith Brinson "Einstein's Daughter"
Felicia Ackerman "The Forecasting Game"
Reginald McKnight "The Kind of Light That Shines on Texas"
Bruce Fleming "The Autobiography of Gertrude Stein"
Devon Jersild "In Which John Imagines His Mind as a Pond"
Janice Eidus "Vito Loves Geraldine"

"One of the most welcome signs of the literary spring is the appearance of the annual O. Henry Awards collection."-- Los Angeles Times


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at BPL

To Top