Prize Stories 1991

Prize Stories 1991

The O. Henry Awards

Book - 1991
Rate this:
The O. Henry Prize Stories 1991 collects 20 of the best short stories of the year, selected from thousands published in literary magazines. "The Sandstone Farmhouse" by John Updike, which tells of a difficult relationship of a son and his mother over 50 years, takes the coveted top prize. The other stories in this collection are:

Joyce Carol Oates "The Swimmers"
Sharon Sheehe Stark "Overland"
Martha Lacy Hall "The Apple-Green Triumph"
Wayne Johnson "Hippies, Indians, Buffalo"
Perri Klass "For Women Everywhere"
Helen Norris "Raisin Faces"
Patricia Lear "Powwow"
Charles Baxter "Saul and Patsy Are Pregnant"
Sylvia A. Watanabe "Talking to the Dead"
T. Alan Broughton "Ashes"
Diane Levenberg "The Ilui"
Ursula K. Le Guin "Hand, Cup, Shell"
Alice Adams "Earthquake Damage"
Charlotte Zo#65533; Walker "The Very Pineapple"
Ronald Sukenick "Ecco"
Dennis McFarland "Nothing to Ask For"
Millicent Dillon "Oil and Water"
Marly Swick "Moscow Nights"
Thomas Fox Averill "During the Twelfth Summer of Elmer D. Peterson"

"This collection is both meritorious and diverse. The work ranges from plainly written stories brimming with resonant significance to full-blown extravaganzas. . . . Recommended."-- Library Journal


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at BPL

To Top