The German Boy

The German Boy

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:

'So this will happen. I will inherit Karen's son who I hate and love before I've even set eyes on him.'

It is 1947. A sixteen-year-old German orphan, Stefan Landau, has come to live with his aunt's family in England. Elizabeth does not know what to make of her sister's son - this dirty, traumatized boy in his shabby Hitler Youth uniform.

For among Stefan's meagre possessions is a portrait of a girl with long copper hair by a painter called Michael Ross. A portrait that brings back memories, both painful and precious, of Elizabeth's life in the years before the war . . . Spanning decades and generations, The German Boy is the moving story of two families entangled by love and friendship, divided by prejudice and war, and of a brief encounter between a man and a woman that touched each of their lives forever.

Praise for The River

'Moving and impressive, strongly atmospheric. A remarkable achievement'
Penelope Lively

'Accomplished, dramatic with a finale that Du Maurier herself would have been proud of' Daily Mail

'Intense and lyrical'
Guardian

'Impressively understated, lyrical, deftly written'
The Times Literary Supplement

Publisher: London : Penguin Books, 2011
ISBN: 9780670919420
067091942X
Branch Call Number: FIC WASTV

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
H18559541
Nov 26, 2012

Went on a bit long. A good read but drawn out.

r
ready2read
Oct 23, 2011

In the first chapter of this book it is 1947 England and Elisabeth is waiting for her husband to pick up her nephew who is arriving from Germany. He is sixteen; the orphaned son of her only sister and her Nazi husband. The boy himself had been a soldier in the German army. Elisabeth hated his father, even before the war, and she is overcome by conflicting feelings. The narrative moves to 1927 and begins to explain how several families and their lives intersected. It is a time when the first war is more than a memory(one character is slowly and painfully dying from mustard gas exposure) and signs are pointing to another conflict. Love and attraction, loyalty and rivalry, are all part of the story.A love story and family saga that will likely appeal to fans of THE POSTMISTRESS and THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL SOCIETY.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top