Spellwright

Spellwright

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:

The exciting sequel to the acclaimed epic fantasy debut Spellwright by Blake Charlton

Francesca DeVega is a healer in the city of Avel, composing magical sentences that close wounds and disspell curses. But when a newly dead patient sits up and tells her that she must flee the infirmary or face a fate worse than death, Francesca finds herself in the middle of a game she doesn't understand--one that ties her to the notorious rogue wizard Nicodemus Weal and brings her face-to-face with demons, demigods, and a man she hoped never to see again.

Ten years ago, Nico escaped Starhaven Academy, leaving behind his failed life, in which he was considered disabled and felt useless. Now, in Spellbound , he's starting fresh, using his newfound gifts in the dark Chthonic languages to pursue the emerald that holds his birthright. Unfortunately, he can't escape the chaos of his old life. His mentor suffers from an incurable curse, agents of the fabled Halcyon hunt him day and night, pieces of Francesca's story don't add up, and the prophesized War of Disjunction looms on the horizon.

Nico and Francesca don't know it yet, but they are going to have to fit together the pieces of an age-old puzzle and discover the demon's darkest secret....

Publisher: Raincoast Book Distribution Ltd. 2011
ISBN: 9780765356598
Branch Call Number: ON ORDER 2016

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
ShamaBole
Dec 13, 2015

I got bored - somehow the writing and characters didn't grab me. I even persevered till page 144 and then gave up. Rather listless writing, with spots of interest. Nico's first lecture, for example. Other than that he just seems a bumbling young man awash in a sea of similar ineptitude.

JCLJaredH Jul 23, 2013

There is much that I loved about Spellwright: Nicodemus’s struggle with his disability (which is more impactful when you realize that Charlton himself is dyslexic); the development of the characters, with all their flaw and strengths; the unique and detailed magic system; the concept that good guys are good and bad guys are bad. Say what you want, but I like the standard fantasy tropes, and Charlton does a good job of infusing new life and perspective into them. More YA in tone than adult, I think both groups will like it. Good for fans of Brandon Sanderson and Brent Weeks.

m
Muffinpants
Jan 27, 2011

What I liked about this book was the way the author uses his experience of dyslexia in a positive way - the world of the book is shaped by the magic words used by the characters, so the protagonist's dyslexia affects his spellcasting,not just his spelling. If you read the short bio under the author's picture, you may wonder, as I did, "When does this guy sleep?"

m
misje0607
Jan 10, 2011

Fantastic novel, can't wait to read the second one!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top