The Book of You

The Book of You

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
7
1
Rate this:
A terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep. Clarissa is becoming more and more frightened of her colleague, Rafe. He won't leave her alone, and he refuses to take no for an answer. He is always there. Being selected for jury service is a relief. The courtroom is a safe haven, a place where Rafe can't be. But as a violent tale of kidnap and abuse unfolds, Clarissa begins to see parallels between her own situation and that of the young woman on the witness stand. Realizing that she bears the burden of proof, Clarissa unravels the twisted, macabre fairytale that Rafe has spun around them - and discovers that the ending he envisions is more terrifying than she could have imagined. But how do you protect yourself from an enemy no one else can see?
Publisher: London : HarperCollins Pubishers, 2014
ISBN: 9781443425995
1443425990
9780007531660
0007531664
0007531648
9780007531646
0007531656
9780007531653
Characteristics: c

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
LearnDressage
Oct 24, 2016

A book that gradually makes you realize that the main character, Clarissa, is experiencing more than paranoia. She has a stalker. The book explores the issues that women may experience trying to prove they are being stalked. Writing was in a journal entry format and while it was interesting, sometimes hard to follow as it was a little choppy. Overall I found it interesting and a quick read.

s
slarsen
Aug 15, 2015

I had a hard time following this story. Didn't like the way it was written.

w
wilqser
Apr 29, 2015

Sinister novel about a woman being stalked by a psychopath. The novel is written in a sort of journal way; that is very few conversations but thoughts and ruminations of the heroine. Forgettable.

g
gvenkatesh
Nov 22, 2014

A novel that will likely be appreciated only by a very specific audience - over-imaginative women that are very articulate in their minds but unable to communicate clearly to even their best friends, who obsess over being a victim with the regularity one pushes against a sore gum to see if it still hurts. They are the only ones who can possibly identify with the protagonist and feel her fear or hurt for most of the book. Rest, especially men, will find it a torturous read and are better off skipping it altogether.

The protagonist's thoughts, to which the reader is exposed in a diary format in detail, will seem more annoying than the stalking (by the subject YOU in the title which hints at the obsession) experienced by her until the events at the very end.

The ending is designed to validate the victimized or helpless feelings (real or imagined) of the target audience than to provoke thoughts of how to get out of it better than the protagonist is able to. As such the book has very little redeeming value to justify the torture.

The star and a half is for the realistic depiction of the confused and obsessive mind of the protagonist even if it fails to evoke much empathy from any reader outside the target audience.

s
stinaOTR
Jun 15, 2014

Very spooky concept, although somewhat predictable. Writing was compelling and conjures up real fear in the reader. A nice first novel.

ChristchurchLib Jun 08, 2014

"After a disturbing evening with a colleague about which she remembers little but suspects plenty, university administrator Clarissa Bourne becomes the unwilling target of this man's constant texts, calls, visits, and gifts. Jury duty comes as a relief, until Clarissa realises that the violent crime unfolding in front of the jury box has parallels to her own life -- and demonstrates just how easily her experiences could be discredited. Her colleague's obsession with her has crossed the line between fantasy and reality, and his threats escalate as she begins friendships with other jurors. "Troubling, raw, and gripping" says Publishers Weekly of this suspenseful debut." Thrillers and Suspense June 2014 newsletter http://www.libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/46456724-8c0d-4dd8-9d2e-25b88bb2b92d?postId=aa07aa9f-8cbf-4f12-a5dc-e97d0c918914

booklady413 May 27, 2014

This psychological thriller will keep you on the edge of your beach blanket!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top