Strange the Dreamer

Strange the Dreamer

eBook - 2017 | First edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
44
4
4
In the aftermath of a war between gods and men, a hero, a librarian, and a girl must battle the fantastical elements of a mysterious city stripped of its name.
Publisher: New York :, Little, Brown and Company,, 2017
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780316341653
0316341657
9780316341646
0316341649
9780316341684
0316341681
Characteristics: c

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
1
1234ravenmore
Nov 04, 2020

Strange the Dreamer
By Laini Taylor

Strange the Dreamer is about an orphan who becomes a junior librarian and discovers this place called Weep. Eventually, he journeys half the world to get there. In all honesty, Strange the Dreamer reminded me why I loved to read. It was so enrapturing from the start to the end and I was absolutely in love with the writing. Laini Taylor really has a way with words. I think her writing is gorgeous and I really cannot find any faults in the story at the moment. Please, consider this as a book to read. I didn't want to give much detail because I don't want to ruin any experience you may have. My summary isn't great, but you should definitely read this.

LPL_KimberlyL Sep 16, 2020

This book totally took me by surprise! I didn't expect to love it as much as I did, but the world-building, characters, and mythology were all so incredibly lush and intriguing, I couldn't help myself! Lazlo is one of the most delightful characters I've discovered within the pages of a book, and one I will happily revisit at a later time. A unique story, and one I highly recommend!

w
WritingChick65
Jul 25, 2020

Another fine effort by Taylor, Although I didn't enjoy it as much as the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series, I would still highly recommend it. Intelligent fantasy, labelled as a Teen read, but perfect for all the dreamers out there. Definitely will check out the further adventures of Lazlo Strange.

b
bookreader02
Apr 02, 2020

Laini Taylor's Strange the Dreamer follows Lazlo Strange as he is thrust from his life as a Librarian to become an adventurer, traveling to the city of his dreams Weep. This high paced fantasy novel contains complex characters and settings that are dripping in detail. Taylor's descriptions are vivid in nature, and compelling in style, urging the reader to finish the book in a single sitting. The magical systems and settings are unlike other popular Young Adult Fiction, providing an exciting reprieve. The characters, specifically Lazlo, are complex and creative, each with their own development, morphing with each dramatic and fantastical event. The entire story follows unexpected twists and turns to end in a suspenseful ending that highly encourages pursuing the second book. Strange the Dreamer is a perfect read for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Cassandra Clare and Leigh Bardugo!

m
michaelwager
Mar 28, 2020

Lazlo Strange, Junior Librarian at the Great Library of Zosma, raised as an orphan in a monastery, has always dreamed of the mysterious city of Weep, which has had no contact with the outside world for 200 years. When Eril Fane the Godslayer, liberator of Weep, arrives unexpectedly in Zosma looking for help fixing the city's problems, Lazlo becomes his secretary and finds himself thrust into the world he has always imagined. After a strange blue girl named Sarai infiltrates his dreams, Lazlo finds unexpectedly that he is the key to saving Weep.

In the spirit of CS Lewis and JRR Tolkien, Taylor has created a vivid, fantastical world full of deep, colorful characters. She explores powerful emotions, the power and consequences of love and hate, and the depths of the human psyche. Beautifully written and incredibly powerful, this book pulls you in and holds your attention for all of its considerable length. The cliffhanger ending will leave you eagerly looking forward to the sequel!

d
dstradling
Jul 20, 2019

The first half of this book really gripped me. Unfortunately the typical YA love story snuck its way in just as I began to believe that I would be free of it for this story. It took away from the rest of the plot in my opinion. I came to love Lazlo, and Sarai, and many of the other characters, and I was very interested to see where thing were headed, but when the focus of the book turned to the love story I realized that Taylor did not have a new and exciting ending in mind. Just a strong beginning with a typical Hero's Journey ending.

kelly_williams Jul 20, 2019

I read this book because it was on the finalist list of YALSA's top ten. I fell in love with Laini Taylor's writing style almost immediately; I was drawn to her characters as if they were my own flesh and blood. I streaked through this book as fast as my eyes could take me, and was left dreaming for more. The sequel, Muse of Nightmares, is equally good, and I absolutely must recommend that you read them both consecutively.

ArapahoeTiegan Jul 08, 2019

What a beautiful world Laini Taylor has created in this novel! I could not get enough - every description was so vivid I just had to keep devouring it. I seriously could almost see everything described as if I was also able to walk through Lazlo's dreams.

l
lola_jane
Jun 21, 2019

Lazlo Strange, orphan and junior librarian has always been fascinated with books about the lost city of Weep. Everyone around him dismisses him as a dreamer, until the day a hero of Weep rides into the city and chooses Lazlo to accompany him on a mission to restore the city. What Lazlo finds there, is more magical and terrible than even fairytales could have prepared him for.
This is a hefty book and admittedly quite slow to begin as Laini Taylor introduces the world and characters with her trademark descriptive prose. But readers who persevere are treated to a mesmerizing world peopled with gods and scientists, alchemists and warriors, each the hero of their own story

WoodmontTeens May 01, 2019

One of the best written books in any genre. It doesn't hurt that the main character is a librarian...

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
1
1234ravenmore
Nov 04, 2020

1234ravenmore thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

l
Lady_Librarian
Oct 31, 2018

Lady_Librarian thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

b
booknrrd
Feb 09, 2018

booknrrd thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

RobertELPL Jul 07, 2017

RobertELPL thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote
j
JHope24601
Dec 04, 2019

“I think you’re a fairy tale. I think you’re magical, and brave, and exquisite. And... I hope you’ll let me be in your story.”

s
shayshortt
Oct 18, 2018

His books were not his dream. Moreover, he had tucked his dream into their pages like a bookmark, and been content to leave it there for too long. The fact was: Nothing he might ever do or read or find inside the Great Library of Zosma was going to bring him one step closer to Weep. Only a journey would do that.

JCLChrisK Dec 29, 2017

One can't be irredeemable who shows reverence for books.

AshleyF2008 Jul 17, 2017

"One looked at him and thought 'Here is a great man, and also a good one,' though few men are ever both." -pg 69

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top