Educated

Educated

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:

For readers of North of Normal and Wild, a stunning new memoir about family, loss and the struggle for a better future

Tara Westover was seventeen when she first set foot in a classroom. Instead of traditional lessons, she grew up learning how to stew herbs into medicine, scavenging in the family scrap yard and helping her family prepare for the apocalypse. She had no birth certificate and no medical records and had never been enrolled in school.

Westover's mother proved a marvel at concocting folk remedies for many ailments. As Tara developed her own coping mechanisms, little by little, she started to realize that what her family was offering didn't have to be her only education. Her first day of university was her first day in school--ever--and she would eventually win an esteemed fellowship from Cambridge and graduate with a PhD in intellectual history and political thought.

Publisher: [Place of publication not identified] :, HarperCollins,, 2018
ISBN: 9781443452472
Branch Call Number: ON ORDER 2018

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

AL_JANE Jan 29, 2018

Simultaneously dark, brutal, disturbing and tragic yet also hope-filled. If ever there was a case made for the importance of education, this is it. I was (again) struck by the influence of parents (and siblings) on the attitudes of their children and the unique power of religious institutions to shape beliefs. This book provided an insight to a world in which I, thankfully, have no experiential reference. The importance of access to a variety of ideas and perspectives, offered through education and libraries, cannot be underestimated.

b
becker
Jan 04, 2018

What a gripping story this was. Tara Westover's personal story of her unconventional childhood and how she used education to rise above it was a very interesting, readable and inspiring tale. It is the kind of book that opens your eyes and teaches you about the world while still being an engrossing read. This will be on my 2018 recommendation list for sure.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top