The Last Romantics

The Last Romantics

A Novel

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2

From the New York Times-bestselling author of The House Girl comes a novel about our most precious and dangerous attachment: family

In the spring of 1981, the young Skinner siblings--fierce Renee, dreamy Caroline, golden boy Joe and watchful Fiona--lose their father to a heart attack and their mother to a paralyzing depression, events that thrust them into a period they will later call "the Pause." Caught between the predictable life they once led and an uncertain future that stretches before them, the siblings navigate the dangers and resentments of the Pause to emerge fiercely loyal and deeply connected. Two decades later, the Skinners find themselves again confronted with a family crisis that tests the strength of these bonds and forces them to question the life choices they've made and what, exactly, they will do for love.

Narrated nearly a century later by the youngest sibling, the renowned poet Fiona Skinner, The Last Romantics spans a lifetime. It's a story of sex and affection, sacrifice and selfishness, deeply held principles and dashed expectations, a lost engagement ring, a squandered baseball scholarship, unsupervised summers at the neighbourhood pond and an iconic book of love poems. But most of all it is the story of Renee, Caroline, Joe and Fiona: the ways they support each other, the ways they betray each other and the ways they knit back together bonds they have fractured.

In the vein of Commonwealth, Little Fires Everywhere and The Nest, this is a panoramic, tenderly insightful novel about one devoted, imperfect family. The Last Romantics is an unforgettable exploration of the responsibilities we bear both gracefully and unwillingly, and the all-important, ever-complex definition of love.

Publisher: Toronto :, Harper Avenue,, [2019]
Edition: First Canadian edition
Copyright Date: ©2019
ISBN: 9781443436304
Branch Call Number: FIC CONKL T

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
e
EmilyEm
May 21, 2019

Renowned poet Fiona Skinner tells the stories that bind and tear her family of four siblings apart, including enigmatic mother Noni and golden boy Joe.

‘Find someone to love,’ brother Joe pleads to his sister Fiona. Love in all its guises is this wonderful book’s theme for sure, messy as it may sometimes be. Needed Kleenex by the end. Good, surprising me to the last page.

f
fran_cine
May 14, 2019

The intertwining of lives and advancement of each storyline kept me riveted with the telling of their loves and sorrows. I am a fan. It read like a type of memoir and I was pulled into the characters believing them real. She is talented to have created their journeys of life with detail and expertise. What wonderful heartfelt stories with a little mystery included.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top