The Golden Boy of Crime

The Golden Boy of Crime

The Almost Certainly True Story of Norman "Red" Ryan

Book - 2019
Rate this:

For readers of The Devil in the White City and The Massey Murder, the incredible story of Norman "Red" Ryan--"the Jesse James of Canada" and the "Kardashian" of the 1920s and '30s

Dubbed "the Jesse James of Canada," Norman "Red" Ryan was infamous in the 1920s and '30s until he was gunned down in an attempted robbery in Sarnia, Ontario. Ernest Hemingway wrote about Ryan's escape from Kingston Penitentiary for the Toronto Star, Morley Callaghan based a novel on him and stories of Ryan and his crimes filled newspapers and airwaves. One of the first Canadians to be granted parole, he was held up by Prime Minister R. B. Bennett as a model of rehabilitation and became a regular guest at Toronto police picnics. All the while, however, Ryan was continuing a crime spree on the side.

Jim Brown, filmmaker and CBC Radio host, tells the incredible true story of "Red" Ryan, a larger-than-life criminal whose fame and legend were much encouraged by the media--he was the "Kardashian" of the time--and whose story endures.

Publisher: Toronto, Ontario, Canada :, Collins, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers Ltd,, [2019]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2019
ISBN: 9781443450096
Branch Call Number: 364.1552092 RYA-B

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top