The Weather Machine

The Weather Machine

A Journey Inside the Forecast

Book - 2019
Rate this:

For readers of The Secret Life of Trees and Tom Vanderbilt's Traffic, a positive forecast about weather and those who report on it

The Weather Machine chronicles Andrew Blum's exploration of the world of weather and the people who watch it. Drawing on the immersive tradition of John McPhee, the first-person explanatory science reporting of Mary Roach and Elizabeth Kolbert, the intellectual explorations of James Gleick and Jim Holt, and the unique travelogue of Blum's own first book, Tubes, Blum takes readers on a journey deep into the weather report. He visits some of the world's most far-off weather stations and watches the newest satellites blast off. He explores the dogged efforts of computational forecasters to create a living supercomputer model of the atmosphere by dialing in tens of thousands of constantly shifting variables. And he dives inside the weather app on your phone to see how the cloud in the sky becomes the cloud on your screen.

Publisher: United States :, HarperCollins,, 2019
ISBN: 9781443438599
Branch Call Number: ON ORDER 2019

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top