The Stranger Diaries

The Stranger Diaries

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
15
"This lively whodunit keeps you guessing until the end." —People (S2(BUtterly bewitching…As unforgettable as it is original.(S3 (B—A.J. Finn (S2(BGoose-bump spooky, smart, and haunting…I loved this book!(S3 (B—Louise Penny Death lies between the lines when the events of a dark story start coming true in this haunting modern gothic mystery, perfect for fans of Magpie Murders and The Lake House. Clare Cassidy is no stranger to murder. A high school English teacher specializing in the Gothic writer R. M. Holland, she teaches a course on it every year. But when one of Clare’s colleagues and closest friends is found dead, with a line from R. M. Holland’s most famous story, (S2(BThe Stranger,(S3 (Bleft by her body, Clare is horrified to see her life collide with the storylines of her favorite literature. To make matters worse, the police suspect the killer is someone Clare knows. Unsure whom to trust, she turns to her closest confidant, her diary, the only outlet she has for her darkest suspicions and fears about the case. Then one day she notices something odd. Writing that isn't hers, left on the page of an old diary: Hallo Clare. You don’t know me. Clare becomes more certain than ever: (S2(BThe Stranger(S3 (Bhas come to terrifying life. But can the ending be rewritten in time?
Publisher: [S.l.]: HMH Books, 2019
ISBN: 9781328576088
Characteristics: c
Additional Contributors: cloudLibrary

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
ShastaCat
Jan 06, 2020

A fabulous suspenseful read. I could not put it down.

a
Anita1980
Dec 26, 2019

I struggled through half of the book and then had to toss it. I found that the suspense never really built up sufficiently to keep me reading. There was also a lot of filler in the book so lots of insignificant details which never really added to the plot or to character development. I also found the three point narrative a little pointless.

a
abcedmillered
Dec 09, 2019

This mystery goes by fast. It's somewhat amusing to draw parallels between gothic fiction and a modern-day mystery, but it damages the my ability to relate to the characters. Neat to have a diverse main detective.

multcolib_susannel Dec 08, 2019

How much does The Stranger- a classic victorian horror story have to do with a teacher found dead in her kitchen?

tomato Oct 07, 2019

Wasn't sure if I'd like this, being such a fan of the Ruth Galloway novels, but it's quite good, and I enjoyed it.

b
bette108
Sep 17, 2019

The cover of this book, the font and the initially opening chapters led me to think this book was written 20-30 years ago and was rather simple. However, even though that's not the case, and the structure of the book is not as simple as it initially appears, I still wasn't gripped by the whodunnit.

s
samsue
Aug 31, 2019

Always fun to get a surprise ending. Interesting read, but I wasn't on the edge of my seat. Lots of suspicious activity and possible bad folks. Overall, didn't enjoy it enough to check out other books by this writer.

b
becker
Jul 15, 2019

This had a gothic tone and some good creepy characters which made for a pretty engaging read.

s
skippyone
Jun 09, 2019

I probably would have enjoyed it more had I not been such a fan of Griffiths' Ruth Galloway mysteries. As a stand alone novel it's intriguing to read the events from 3 points of view, unfortunately, I could have done without the DS's constant running commentary on the main character. She comes across as an unpleasant shrill, colouring her investigation with her bias. Galloway fans might recognize her as a sort of female Nelson, but without the benefit of seeing his development over the course of 11 books.

l
LauraSteinert
May 11, 2019

While I understand the point of having three points of view in a narrative, I find it extremely annoying when I'm told the same "facts of the case" three times. Then the police go over the facts in dialogue and then the teacher goes over the facts with the police, and then with her friends. I have a list of 500 books to read, I'm NOT so new to the genre that I can't recognize a clue (DON'T tell me 6 times please), and I don't forget from one chapter to the next what happened. It was a very frustrating read--especially the ghost story she has written in to convince readers the long dead writer mentioned was real.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top