The Carnival of Wishes & Dreams

The Carnival of Wishes & Dreams

Book - 2019
Rate this:
In the tradition of Wishtree and You May Already Be a Winner , this hopeful middle grade novel tells the story of three former friends who must come together at their annual town carnival to heal and reconnect after a tragedy.

The small town of Clarkville has seen better days. Ever since the Cohen factory burned down a few years ago, jobs are scarce and unemployment is high. But each year for one night the Carnival of Wishes and Dreams comes to town and everyone gets to indulge in a little wonder and delight. And for three girls who each receive notes asking them to meet the anonymous sender at midnight at the Ferris Wheel, it's an evening that promises to be truly magical.

Audrey McKinley can't believe someone would ask her to ride the Ferris Wheel. Everyone in town knows she's afraid of heights; the last time she rode the Ferris Wheel it ended with her having a panic attack. But ever since her dad lost his job after the Cohen factory burned down he's been working too little. The carnival gives him a chance for some seasonal work, and she plans to spend the evening checking up on him and making sure he does his job. Maybe she'll face her fears tonight, after all.

Grace Chang isn't supposed to go to the carnival. It's too close to the burned remains of the old Cohen factory--the place where her firefighter father lost his life. And they always rode the Ferris Wheel together, so that's also something Grace isn't supposed to do. But since her mom just announced they'll be moving away from Clarkville the day after the carnival, Grace is sick of only doing things she's supposed to do. She'll be at the carnival. And she is definitely riding that Ferris Wheel.

Harlow Cohen is surprised anyone would want to ride the Ferris Wheel with her. Harlow used to be popular. But ever since her grandparents' old factory burned down and so many people lost their jobs, many of the kids at school blame her--and her rich family--for their own parents' worsening economic situations. Harlow can never resist a dare, but when a note arrives asking her to meet an anonymous person at the Ferris Wheel at midnight, she's far from certain it will be a friend waiting for her.

Can these three girls put their differences aside long enough for their wishes to come true? And is it possible to save a friendship that once seemed lost for good?
Publisher: Canada :, Aladdin,, 2019
ISBN: 9781534416918
Branch Call Number: ON ORDER 2019

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top