The Girl They Left Behind

The Girl They Left Behind

A Novel

eBook - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6
A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation'perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah's Key. On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger, undergoing increasingly violent persecution. The girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. They are even further from her mind when Romania falls under Soviet occupation. Yet, as Natalia comes of age in a bleak and hopeless world, traces of her identity pierce the surface of her everyday life, leading gradually to a discovery that will change her destiny. She has a secret crush on Victor, an intense young man who as an impoverished student befriended her family long ago. Years later, when Natalia is in her early twenties and working at a warehouse packing fruit, she and Victor, now an important official in the Communist regime, cross paths again. This time they are fatefully drawn into a passionate affair despite the obstacles swirling around them and Victor's dark secrets. When Natalia is suddenly offered a one-time chance at freedom, Victor is determined to help her escape, even if it means losing her. Natalia must make an agonizing decision: remain in Bucharest with her beloved adoptive parents and the man she has come to love, or seize the chance to finally live life on her own terms, and to confront the painful enigma of her past.
Publisher: New York :, Atria Books,, 2018
Edition: First Atria books hardcover edition
ISBN: 9781501187704
1501187708
9781501187681
Characteristics: c
text file, rda

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
n
nanaDx4
May 09, 2019

Enjoyed the book very much. Interesting to read about Romania during WW2 and following.

n
nancyau12
Mar 29, 2019

Very good. Romania during WWII and afterwards under communist rule.

b
becker
Mar 25, 2019

This is a perfect book for those that love historical family sagas with a lot of heart. The story is told from a lesser known perspective which is fresh and very interesting and it is a very enjoyable read.

SherryH1 Mar 04, 2019

A story of resilience and so much more. Definitely a worthwhile read.

r
r0cdjmg
Jan 31, 2019

One of the best books I have ever read.

DCLadults Nov 02, 2018

A New & Noteworthy pick. The setting of Romania as the Iron Curtain falls provides a different view of World War II. Based on a true story that becomes great historical fiction.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top